Apple's new MacBook Pro with PROLED XDR Display is the first Mac with a touchscreen. It pairs touch input with a new tandem OLED panel, comes in 14-inch and 16-inch sizes, starts at $2,899 in the U.S. and arrives Nov. 6. Pre-orders opened Oct. 28.

What changed

The display is the story. Apple calls it PROLED XDR, a tandem OLED panel with touch input built in, and says it replaces the previous panel technology. Apple's stated figures:

  • Brightness: up to 2,000 nits (a brightness measure) peak for both HDR and SDR.
  • Contrast: 10,000,000:1.
  • Refresh: 120Hz variable (ProMotion), adaptive from 10Hz.
  • Color: P3 and Adobe RGB, with a nano-texture cover glass option.
  • Software: macOS 27 "Golden Gate" with Siri AI, Apple Intelligence and Dynamic Island on Mac, which Apple ties to Spotlight, Live Activities and Siri AI. A Pro Display Calibrator and industry reference modes are included.

Chips are M5 Pro or M5 Max, with up to 128GB of unified memory and up to 16TB of storage. Apple says the 14-inch weighs 3 lb, half a pound lighter than before, and the 16-inch weighs 4 lb, 0.7 lb lighter. The 14-inch is 0.5mm thinner and the 16-inch nearly 1mm thinner, with a redesigned thermal architecture and hinge. Battery life is up to 24 hours by Apple's September 2026 testing, and fast charge reaches 50% in 30 minutes. Apple did not state battery life per configuration.

Ports are three Thunderbolt 5, HDMI, an SDXC slot, MagSafe and a headphone jack. M5 Pro supports up to three external displays and M5 Max up to four. Wi-Fi 7 and Bluetooth 6 come from Apple's N1 chip. The laptop has Touch ID, six speakers with Dolby Atmos and a 12MP Center Stage camera.

U.S. starting prices

ConfigurationRegularEducation
14-inch, M5 Pro$2,899$2,749
16-inch, M5 Pro$3,399$3,199
14-inch, M5 Max$4,499$4,199
16-inch, M5 Max$4,799$4,499

Pre-orders began Oct. 28 in 30 countries and regions including the U.S., and the laptops arrive in stores on Friday, Nov. 6. In the U.S., Apple Upgrade leases start at $55.99 a month for 36 months, excluding taxes and trade-in, and Apple Card Monthly Installments run at 0% APR. Apple Trade In is offered, but Apple did not state trade-in values.

Who is affected

This is a different machine from the 14-inch M6 MacBook Pro Apple announced Oct. 27. That model starts at $1,999, keeps a Liquid Retina XDR display and is not the touchscreen laptop. Both arrive Nov. 6.

  • Pre-order now if you were waiting for touch or OLED. See our earlier wait-or-buy report; the display and prices are now official.
  • Compare before buying if performance is your priority. This model uses M5 Pro or M5 Max chips.
  • Waiting is reasonable if the starting price is more than you need to spend. The M6 model costs $900 less at the 14-inch base, though it has no touch or OLED display.

The Nov. 6 date had appeared in earlier reporting, covered in our Nov. 6 date story, and Apple's announcement now confirms it for this model.

What this means for you

If you want a Mac you can touch, this is the first one and the date is confirmed. If you only want a faster laptop, the touchscreen is not required, and the M6 model costs less. Colors were not stated by Apple, so check the configurator before ordering.

What we checked

Product and price claims come from Apple's newsroom post, checked at 1:15 p.m. ET on Oct. 28; the M6 comparison comes from our earlier story. Apple did not state colors or trade-in values in that post. We have not tested the machine, and the performance and battery figures are Apple's own.